A common scene in an English supermarket is someone smelling a bottle of fabric conditioner to check whether they like the scent or not. In supermarkets here, it is just as common to walk down the household toiletries aisle and find someone holding up a 12 pack of quilted toilet rolls and doing the same. Of course, this seemed very odd on first impressions.  I had not really come across scented toilet paper very often in England, so finding it all over the shop shelves here came as a bit of a surprise. There aren’t just simple scents like ‘Lavender’ either – there are all kinds of scents! Some I’ve come across so far include, apple, peach, strawberry, orange, grapefruit, coconut and the more ominous sounding ‘bathroom odour’. I can see how this idea might give your bathroom a nice fresh and fruity scent, but other than that – scented toilet paper seems a little bit pointless in my opinion! I still can’t help but smile when I see people sniffing loo rolls in the middle of the shop though.

photo 2

